Baton Rouge, Louisiana is a place where visitors can experience the state's deep and colorful history told through the area's historical architecture and rich countryside. Visitors and locals alike tour these elaborate and beautiful antebellum mansions experiencing what life was like at these domestic centers of massive cotton, sugar cane and rice plantations. Many of the larger plantations are restored and currently now serve as tourist attractions throughout Baton Rouge and its surrounding communities. Other than the mansions built in Federal or Greek revival styles in the early part of the 19th century, there is a tradition of cottage architecture that characterizes the slave quarters and rural settlements throughout Plantation Country. Today, this vernacular architecture style is found across southern Louisiana. Be on the lookout for this simple one or two-room houses in an Acadian cottage style.
The Myrtles Plantation is a 213 year old National Register home built by General David Bradford, also known as "Whiskey Dave." The plantation, circa 1796, invites you to step into the past and experience antebellum splendor. You will see fine antiques, architectural treasures of the South and discover why The Myrtles Plantation has been called one of "America's Most Haunted Homes." The plantation offers guided history and mystery tours daily and features a full service restaurant with casual or elegant dining options.
Visitors will enjoy viewing the hand-painted stained glass, open pierced plaster frieze work, Aubusson tapestries, Baccarat crystal chandeliers, Carrera marble mantles and gold leafed French furnishings. Guided tours include the history, architectural significance and enchanting stories of mystery and intrigue.
Relax in the giant rockers on the 120-foot verandah or stroll through the lush ten acres filled with majestic live oaks. The 5,000 square foot old brick courtyard is the perfect place to unwind before enjoying a delicious candlelight dinner at The Carriage House Restaurant, located on the Plantation grounds.
The Myrtles Plantation operates year-round as a full service Bed & Breakfast. Below you will find a brief description of each room. All rooms include a continental breakfast and a historical tour of the home. For rates and information visit the Myrtles Plantation online .
The Myrtles has one over night guest room on the 1st floor of the home: The General David Bradford Suite has one large bedroom with a four-poster full size bed and a private sitting room. Two verandahs adjoin the suite. This room has a private bath with a shower.
The guest room located upstairs in Main House is the The Judge Clarke Woodruff Suite. This the only room with access to the foyer and main staircase at the close of the day. It has a large bedroom with a sitting area and a four-poster queen size bed. This room has a private bath with a tub.
The Fannie Williams Room has a full size bed, private bath with a shower that is located in the hallway just a few steps away from the room.
The Ruffin-Stirling Room has a large four-poster queen size bed, private bath with a shower also located a few steps away from the room, in the hallway.
The William Winters Room has a four-poster queen size bed and private bath with a tub in the room.
The John W. Leake Room has a four-poster full size bed and a private bath with a shower in the room.
The Caretaker's Cottage is a rustic cottage with a queen size bed, a set of bunk beds and private bath with a shower. It has a fenced yard, a front porch and is located behind The
General Bradford House.
The Azalea, Camellia, Magnolia, and Oleander Garden Rooms each has a queen size bed and a private bath with an antique claw foot tub.
The Carriage House Restaurant at The Myrtles Plantation is a family owned restaurant located in the Historic town of St. Francisville that offers a "Taste of Southern Cuisine and Hospitality".
Monday thru Saturday from 11 a.m.-2 p.m.
Monday thru Saturday from 5 a.m.-9 p.m.
11 a.m.-2 p.m.
Visitors will experience an ideal setting and a staff waiting to fulfill their every need. The Myrtles Plantation strives to create the ambiance and perfect atmosphere as you indulge in our original recipes from our team of chefs, cooks and salad specialist. The chefs cook down home southern favorites, plantation recipes from the olden days and offer numerous daily specials for the seasons!
Historic Tours Daily: 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Every hour and half hour.
Mystery Tours: Friday & Saturday Evenings at 6, 7 & 8 p.m.
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion , is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort amenities and corporate and social event venues.
Nottoway is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week.
Nottoway is a member of Historic Hotels of America , a prestigious organization of quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity and offer visitors an exceptional travel experience.
Please come visit us soon so that we may personally introduce you to the unforgettable grandeur and gracious hospitality of Nottoway Plantation & Resort!
The Laura Plantation's award-winning 70-minute guided tour offers professional interpreters who will expose you to compelling, real-life accounts of generations of owners, women, slaves and children who called this typical Creole sugarcane farm their home.
The guided tour is based upon 5,000 pages of documents related to this plantation discovered in the Archives Nationales in Paris, with the major stories coming from Laura Locoul Gore's own memories of the Old Plantation Home.
The guided tour starts with a visit through the Maison Principale, built in 1805. Visitors will venture into its raised basement galleries, into men's and women's chambers, service rooms and common rooms. Even though you will see Laura's family heirlooms and their Creole furnishings, this portion of the tour spotlights the charmed but tragic lives of the plantation's inhabitants. Visitors are introduced to age-old Creole traditions and the skilled workmanship of enslaved artisans.
A guided tour based on Laura Locoul's memories of the Old Plantation Home.
A guided tour of the newly restored Big House, its raised basement and galleries, men's and women's parlors, service rooms and common rooms.
A guided tour of the 200-year-old sugar plantation homestead with a visit into the 3 gardens: Jardin Francais, the kitchen Potager & Banana grove.
A guided tour inside one of the slave cabins, built in 1840, where the ancient west-African tales of Compare Lapin, better known in English as "Br'er Rabbit," were recorded. On the grounds are 12 buildings on the National Register, including animal barns, overseers' cottages and the 1829 Maison de Reprise.
Free parking and entrance to the Laura Plantation Store.
Group Rates and Specialty Themed Tours are available daily by reservation.
Laura stands in the heart of New Orleans Plantation Country. While you are in the area, enjoy neighboring attractions, accommodations and local Creole & Cajun cuisine that Louisiana's Great River Road has waiting for you!
Laura Plantation is open daily for guided tours except for the following Creole holidays:
New Year's Day
Mardi Gras Day
Tours are scheduled throughout the day to begin at the following times:
10:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
10:40 a.m. 1:10 p.m.
11:15 a.m. 1:45 p.m.
11:55 a.m. 2:20 p.m.
Last tour begins: 4:00 p.m.
Laura: A Creole Plantation is open for guided tours only. Visitors must have an admission ticket to take the tour, and they must remain with their guide at all times. Admission tickets are available daily at the Ticket Office in the Laura Plantation Store.
Student (Ages 6-17): $5.00
Child (Age 0-5): Free
AAA Adult: $13.00
Nat'l Trust Adult: $13.00
Military Adult: $13.00
We Save Adult: $13.00
If you are planning to visit with 20 or more people, tour reservations are required. Group rates apply for reserved groups of 20+ persons. It is strongly advised that reservations be booked at least 30 days in advance of your visit. Tour escorts, drivers and guides are admitted free. Laura Plantation also offers customized tours for elementary, middle school and high school student groups. For reservations and further information about group tours and school group tours, please contact Jay Schexnaydre: 225-265-7690
Children (ages 6-17): $5.00
School Group Rates:
Adult Chaperone: $12.00
Also known as The Sugar Palace, Houmas House has reclaimed its position as Crown Jewel of Louisiana's River Road through the vision and determination of Kevin Kelly, who fulfilled a lifelong dream by acquiring the property in the Spring of 2003. Today, the mansion reflects the best parts of each period in its rich history alongside the big bend in the Mississippi River.
The first owners of the plantation were the indigenous Houmas Indians, who were given a land grant to occupy the fertile plain between the Mississippi and Lake Maurepas.
The Houmas sold the land to Maurice Conway and Alexander Latil in the mid 1700's.
The original French Provincial house that Latil erected on the property is situated directly behind the Mansion, adjoined by a carriageway to the grand home described during its antebellum heyday as "The Sugar Palace." The original home was later used as living quarters for the staff.
The Gardens of Houmas House Plantation have been developed as a lush 38-acre panorama of indigenous Louisiana plant life and stunning exotics designed to beckon visitors to extend their stay. Like the statues of the four seasons patiently await the arrival of each solstice and equinox along the River Road, the Gardens are planned to reflect the unique beauty of each part of the year. Many sitting areas have been provided around the property to invite guests to sit and experience the year-round grandeur of the ancient oak alley, the fragrance of spring and summer blooms and the sights and sounds of bird life, wildlife and plantation life of long ago.
From Acadiana's epoch of Evangeline to the myriad tales of haunted habitats in New Orleans' French Quarter, South Louisiana has a rich heritage - and active interest - in the plausibility of wandering souls from beyond the grave. In these parts, ghost stories abound, mostly the sort told around campfires to adolescent audiences for pure entertainment. But actual sightings by reasonable, mature adults evoke a different reaction. Ghost hunter Fiona Broome describes two very vivid ghosts at Houmas House Plantation. To read more about the Ghosts at Houmas House, click here.
Latil's is located in the French House, built in the 1770's by Alexander Latil, and now the rear wing of the Houmas House Mansion. Dinner reservations are required and can be made by calling (225) 473-9380 or (888) 323-8314. Private Dining Rooms are available as well. Click Here to preview the dinner menu. Each evening Chef Jeremy Langlois creates a seven course menu of the moment, from inspiration and the markets offerings. Click Here to view a typical menu. Make sure you leave room for what some consider the most important part of a meal, dessert! Click Here to view the dessert menu.
Wednesday - Saturday: 6 p.m. - 10 p.m.
Sunday: 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Cafe' Burnside is a place where one can take a break from their hectic day and enjoy a casual lunch. The menu is diverse and ranges from a grand healthy salad, to a fried oyster po-boy, to a filet mignon, done just perfect! Click Here to view the delicious menu.
Sunday - Saturday: 11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Visitors to Houmas House are considered guests, not tourists, and the experience is like visiting a friend's home. Specially trained tour guides are always more than happy to answer questions or engage requests for more information.
Monday - Tuesday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesday - Sunday: 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Mansion & Gardens Tour -$20.00
Gardens and Grounds Only - $10.00
The Audubon Historic Site is a lush natural setting, with a variety of birds singing throughout the 100-acre forest, continues to inspire visitors. In this peaceful environment, it is easy to imagine the artist filling his sketch pad with notes and drawings for his famous series of bird illustrations.
Audubon came upriver from New Orleans to do more than paint pictures. He had been hired to teach drawing to Miss Eliza Pirrie, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Pirrie, owners of Oakley. His teacher-artist arrangement was short-lived due to a misunderstanding with Mrs. Pirrie. Only four months after his arrival, Audubon returned to New Orleans. Although there is no record of his success in teaching Miss Pirrie to draw, in his personal endeavors he completed or began 32 bird paintings while at Oakley.
The tall, airy house where John James Audubon stayed is a splendid example of colonial architecture adapted to its climate. Built circa 1806, Oakley predates the relatively heavy details of classic revival in Southern plantation homes and claims distinction for its beautiful simplicity. The rooms of Oakley have been restored in the style of the late Federal Period (1790-1830), reflecting their appearance when Audubon stayed there.
A West Indies influence can be seen in the jalousied galleries which allow cool breezes to drift through the rooms while keeping out rain and the glare of the sun. Adam mantels, delicate decoration of the exterior gallery stairs and a simple cornice frieze are Oakley's only ornaments. Simple and dignified by its unusual height, the building seems a suitable part of its beautiful forest setting. In 1973, Oakley House was placed on the National Register of Historic Places, an honorary designation for significant historic sites.
The large, detached plantation kitchen was reconstructed on the old foundations around the original chimney. The kitchen building also contains a weaving room and an ironing/wash room.
Two slave cabins, located a short distance from the rear of the house, give a glimpse into the laborers' way of life on the plantation. These cabins provide the backdrop for programs highlighting the impact of African Americans in developing early America.
Restored formal and kitchen gardens adjacent to the house demonstrate the early Louisiana plantation owners' tendency to re-create formal beauty in their wilderness environment.
Guided tours are offered daily. Tours at Audubon SHS begin in the museum, where the history of the site is told through exhibits and an audio-visual presentation. The site is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
Hours of Operation: 9 a.m.- 5 p.m.
Entrance Fees: $2 per person; free for seniors (62 and over) and for children age 12 and under. Groups are asked to call in advance: (225)635-3739 or toll free (888)677-2838.
Located in Baton Rouge, the capital of Louisiana, BREC's Magnolia Mound Plantation is a rare survivor of the vernacular architecture influenced by early settlers from France and the West Indies. This venerable landmark is unique in southern Louisiana not simply because of its age, quality of restoration, or outstanding collections, but because it is still a vital part of the community. Magnolia Mound's mission is to illustrate and interpret the lifestyle of the French Creoles who formed the fascinating culture which still influences and pervades life in southern Louisiana. The plantation lives its mission by hosting through educational programs, workshops, lectures, festivals and other special events.
The plantation house, now surrounded by an urban setting, was once the center of a 900-acre operation with frontage on the Mississippi River. The main house was built c.1791 as a small settler's house and as prosperity came to the lower Mississippi Valley, the house was enlarged and renovated in 1802-05, to become the elegant seat of a major landowner. Spanning the colonial era and early statehood, Magnolia Mound's collection of furnishings and decorative arts include one of the foremost public groups of Louisiana-made objects, in carefully restored and documented settings. The object collection includes locally made furniture from Louisiana's colonial period, as well as French pieces that illustrate the ties of the sophisticated planter with his family in France. Inventory records and accounts from the period indicate that prosperous local planters purchased fashionable Federal-style objects from the eastern seaboard. Decorative art items also include English and French ceramics, crystal and furniture obtained through the major port of New Orleans and locally made textiles. The collection includes objects that help to convey the distinctive taste of this large Catholic family in South Louisiana.
Of the 900 original land-grant acres, Magnolia Mound retains sixteen acres. The structures on the property include:
Historic House Museum - The museum is accredited by the American Association of Museums featuring appropriate furnishings for a Federal era Louisiana Plantation. The house is periodically dressed c. 1800-1820 for occasions, such as weddings, funerals, Christmas, Lent and summer.
Open-Hearth Kitchen - Reconstructed separate outdoor kitchen is authentically furnished with vintage utensils, such as spider pots, a clock-jack, sugar nippers, waffle iron, olla jar and reflector ovens.
Overseer's House - Original to the plantation c. 1870 and home to the man who was responsible for the success or failure of the plantation's various operations.
Quarter House - A double slave cabin c. 1830 has one living quarter furnished appropriately to the period. The adjoining section contains an exhibit of slave life on a Louisiana plantation.
Crop Garden - The crop garden contains indigo, tobacco, cotton and sugar cane in order to depict all of Magnolia Mound's cash crops throughout our history.
Pigeonnier - A small structure c.1825, to house squab and various game birds, featuring a new collection of live pigeons.
Carriage House - A collection of vintage tools, as well as a weaver's workshop that depicts plantation chores c.1800-1820.
For more information visit Magnolia Mound online .
Please call or email in advance for a group or school tours (225) 343-4955
Monday-Saturday: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m.-4 p.m.
Tours are conducted on the hour from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m.
Admission is only free to Louisiana Residents on Thursdays from 1 p.m.-4 p.m.
Individual Tour Admission
Senior Citizens $6
Ages 5-17 $3
Children under 5 admitted free with family
Groups Tour Admission
1-20 People - $8 per person
21-40 People - $7 per person
41 or More People - $6.50 per person
Student Groups Tour Admission
1-20 Students - $7
21-40 Students - $6
41 or More Students - $5
Costumed interpreters lead students in grades 3 - 8 on a tour of the plantation house and grounds. In Grandmother's Attic, students are engaged in hands-on activity in which they are able to handle and think about items that represent life in Louisiana in the 19th century. Students are asked to examine items and try to figure out what they are and how they were used. They are also encouraged to compare these items with items that are used today. Groups also learn about weaving and get to make a take-home project.
In the Quarter: Slave life in 1810
Students in grades 3 - 8 explore Magnolia Mound Plantation's authentic slave cabin. Young people get a close look at the home life of 19th century enslaved men, women, and children. Inside the slave cabin, students view an emotional setting of a slave family's sparsely furnished one-room home and then tour an interactive slavery exhibit. Students hear captivating songs of the slaves, played in the background, as they view pictures and artifacts that depict the journey of the slaves from Africa, their lives here on the plantation, and their dreams of freedom. Students also participate in an activity which involves the tradition of pottery-making brought to America by the slaves as they tried to hold onto their culture.
This program gives older students in grades 5 - 8 a close look at life at Magnolia Mound around 1825. Costumed docents lead students on a tour of the plantation house and grounds. These students cook in an open-hearth kitchen and enjoy the results of their work. In addition, they participate in other plantation crafts such as weaving, spinning, or carpentry. This program is offered only on Wednesdays with a maximum of 30 students.
Bring Magnolia Mound to your classroom! This out-reach program can be borrowed by teachers for up to one month. The theme of the trunks is 19th century plantation life and it is full of learning materials, artifacts, and activities. The trunk includes a Teacher's Manual with lesson plans. These trunks provide lessons, activities, and resources for K-2nd, 3rd-5th, and 6th-8th graders. There is a $75 charge to check out a trunk, refundable upon return of the trunk and all contents
The LSU Rural Life Museum provides excellent articles, exhibits and information to those interested in the lifestyles and life-ways of the rural people of Louisiana. Containing the largest collection of material culture of 19th century Louisiana, the Museum also houses artifacts dealing with everyday rural life up to the early 20th century. Information about these artifacts will be continuously added to the website. The Museum Library also gives visitors and students access to a wonderful collection of books for research.
The plantation offers programs for students of any age! Third grade classes and above can request a docent led tour. Just contact the Rural Life Museum Admissions Services Desk at (225) 765-2437 at least two weeks prior to your planned visit. For younger students, tours are self-guided with teachers or adults along to chaperone.
Students will get just the right mix of learning and fun...all in our scenic and safe experience areas.
PLAN YOUR TRIP NOW
111 Foster Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803 Allows LSU students an opportunity to exhibit their work in a professional setting. The majority of the gallery's monthly exhibits are composed by MFA candidates presenting their theses and by graduating BFA students showing their semester-ending exhibits. The School of Art Gallery on LSU's campus is located inside Foster Hall, where the painting and drawing classes are held. Open Tuesdays-Fridays 10am-4pm and Saturdays noon-4pm. Closed on LSU holidays.
1712 North Acadian West
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
An entity of a former business that has served the Baton Rouge community for over 30 years. Originally known as Buddy Stewart's Rock Shop, it was one of the largest minority family owned and operated music stores in South Louisiana. The Rock Shop no longer exists as a retail store but as an antique record shop with one of the largest vinyl collections on display in South Louisiana. The shop is still visited by collectors and music enthusiasts from all over the world. The Rhythm Museum has been featured in many state and national publications. The Rhythm Museum's interior atmosphere displays past and present artists of Baton Rouge and surrounding areas and their musical contributions and accomplishments helping the community to better understand the significance of the Baton Rouge artist. It also provides historical information to scholars and individuals seeking knowledge of artists who shaped the flavor of South Louisiana. The Buddy Stewart Music Foundation focuses on giving support to Baton Rouge's African American heritage by creating opportunities for the community to interact with foundation projects and the artists who visit. It unifies local performing artists by giving them a venue to perform and learn more about the tradition they represent. The Buddy Stewart Music Foundation also helps network local artists to new audiences. Free Admission.
Translation of Website